8 hours Availability: 24/7
• Janardag (fortress walls)
• Ateshgah (the Temple of Fire-worshipers)
• Heydar Aliyev Center
Place of meeting and return
Pair fortress gates (Gosha Gala), (Old City of Baku)
Your hotel or the specified address within the city of Baku (for private tours)
Group tour: 09:00
Private tour: 09:00 – 10:00
Here there is a heightened interest, In recent years; the tourism industry drew the attention of Azerbaijan’s rich culture, friendly people and very luxurious industries and hospitality. Absheron is an incredible place for travelers who are looking for something new and interesting. If you read this far, then, you probably, given the visit to the Abseron. This information will give you an idea of the city and the atom that awaits you a tour of the Absheron .
Azerbaijan is not accidentally called the “Land of Lights”: beating oil on the surface, sparkling in the night with Baku illuminations, frightening flames that covered the surface of the earth for tens of meters … and this is not an exaggeration. There is the mountain of Yanardag in the territory of this ancient and mysterious eastern state, whose name is literally translated as “burning mountain”.
Yanardag is one of the most amazing natural attractions of the Apsheron Peninsula. It is a mountainside covered in flames, which can not be extinguished by rain or covered with sand, which has been burning for several millennia. The frightening and simultaneously fascinating fiery landscape is actually explained very simply: from the upper layers of the soil natural gas is released, when it comes into contact with oxygen, it turns into a flame.
However, despite the usual scientific explanation, there are a lot of legends connected with the mountain, and local people and pilgrims from all over the world still consider the mountain sacred and come to bow to it or engage in meditation at its hot slopes.
At one time, believers from Persia, India and other eastern countries aspired to Yanardagh, today there live advanced tourists with “mirrors” at the ready from Germany, Japan, Korea and, of course, Russia. But not an exception is the appearance of quiet Buddhists or enthusiastic scholars of ancient Zoroastrism.
The frightening and simultaneously fascinating fiery landscape in fact is explained very simply: the presence of natural gas under the ground.
Not so long ago Yanardaga was granted the status of the historical reserve of Azerbaijan, the mountain slope is protected by the state. The best view of the flaming Yanardag opens at dusk, when it has not darkened completely, but the colors of the day have faded, opening the space of fantasy, hurrying to see in the glow of fire and in the shadows cast from the flame mysterious signs and symbols.
Another local attraction is the cave on the top of the mountain with the sinister name “Wolf’s Gate”. They say that once there lived a flock of wolves, while others say that the rock paintings on the walls of the cave are proof of the presence of primitive people here.
The temple of eternal fire Ateshgyah is the real Azerbaijani exotica. About him they know practically all over the world. It is located 30 km from the center of Baku, on the outskirts of the village of Surakhani. This area is known for such a unique natural phenomenon as burning natural gas exits (gas, bursting out, touching oxygen and lighting up). In the modern form the church was built in the XVII-XVIII centuries. It was built by the Hindu community, residing in Baku, belonging to the Sikh caste.
However, the history of the temple Ateshgyah is much older. Long ago in this territory was located the sanctuary of Zoroastrians-fire-worshipers (approximately the beginning of our era). They gave mystery to the unquenchable fire and came here to worship the shrine.
After the adoption of Islam, the temple of the Zoroastrians was destroyed. Many Zoroastrians went to India and there they continued their faith. But in the 15th and 17th centuries, Hindu fire worshipers, who got to Apsheron with trade caravans, began to make pilgrimages to Surakhani. And in place of the ancient temple, Indian merchants again began to build buildings. The earliest building of Ateshgah temple dates back to 1713. To the latest – the central temple-altar, built, as the inscription on the means of the merchant Kanchanagar in 1810 says. During the 18th century chapels, chapels, caravan-sheds were built around the sanctuary, joining each other. On the cells of the monument there are carved on stone inscriptions, filled with the fonts of Indian letters.
At the beginning of the XIX century the temple Ateshgyah already had a form that has survived to our days. Ateshgyah is a pentagonal structure, with a crenellated outer wall and an entrance portal. In the center of the courtyard stands an altar-sanctuary, made in the form of a stone arbor, in the corners of which there are several more centers. In the center of the altar is a well, from which “burning” gas burned forever.
Above the entrance portal there is a traditional guest room on Absheron – “balakhane”. Near the temple there is a large pit where the bodies of the dead Hindus were burned on sacred fire.
In the middle of the XIX century, in connection with the movement of the earth’s surface, the output of natural gas in this place ceased. Pilgrims took this as punishment of the gods and began to leave. Ateshgyah, as a place of worship, lasted until 1880. But today the ancient Zoroastrian Ateshgah temple is once again open to visitors and attracts tourists, only with artificial lights.
Heydar Aliyev Center (Heydər Əliyev Mərkəzi) is a cultural center built on Heydar Aliyev Avenue in the capital of Azerbaijan, in the city of Baku. It is a complex structure, which includes an auditorium (congress center), a museum, exhibition halls, administrative offices. He wears the name of the third president of Azerbaijan Heydar Aliyev. The project of the center was developed in 2007 by the architect Zaha Hadid. Director of the Heydar Aliyev Center is Anar Alekperov. The cultural center of Heydar Aliyev is considered one of the symbols of modern Baku. In 2014 it was recognized as the best building in the world – the 2014 Design of the Year award. The center was established in accordance with the Decree No. 1886 of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Ilham Aliyev, dated December 29, 2006. The Center is called upon to carry out consistent activities in the sphere of fundamental study of the philosophy of state construction and ideology of Azerbaijanis of the former President of Azerbaijan Heydar Aliyev, as well as promote the all-round development of Azerbaijani history, language, cultural, national and spiritual values.
Construction of a cultural center in October
In the territory now occupied by the center, the factory had operated before. The territory of the plant was 16 hectares. The plant itself was moved to another place, the area was cleared and construction began. the foundation of the building was laid. By the decree of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Regulation on the Heydar Aliyev Center was approved.
The construction was carried out on an area of 101,801 m². The construction of the building was covered in one of the editions of the program Build It Bigger on the channels of Discovery and Science Channel, dedicated to the most courageous engineering projects of the present and architectural masterpieces of the world. During the broadcast, presenter Danny Forster talks about the center of Heydar Aliyev: “It’s not just a cultural center, it’s a way to establish your place in the world.”
On May 10, 2012, the grand opening of the Center was held on the occasion of the 89th anniversary of the birth of Heydar Aliyev. The ceremony was attended by the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev, his wife Mehriban Aliyeva and members of their family.